Tags

, , , ,

A few days ago, I decided to start talking some about my experience with the new evangelization. Upon pondering this idea, I realized that multiple posts would probably be a better idea. I am always amazed at the length of some blog posts I read…until I am only half way finished and exhausted, or bored, or, or or.
The first thing I would like to point out is Catholicism and TV. Now, some people are very lucky. Catholic TV is a local or broadcast and is reachable on any TV. Many cable providers also provide access to EWTN or Catholic TV.
I cut the cord from cable about 5 years. I purchased a ROKU. You can read more about it here. A ROKU is a streaming device that hooks up to your television. With broadband or wireless internet, you can download and connect to channels like Netflix, Hulu Plus, Amazon Prime, and more.
Early in my searching for faith, I stumbled across EWTN and Catholic TV as ROKU channels. There are now 10 other channels available to Catholics and those interested in Catholicism.
I wouldn’t want to leave out my friends of other faiths. There are 405, “Religion & Spirituality” channels on ROKU. 12 are catholic. There is a handful of Jewish and Messianic Judaism channels, possibly a dozen. There are 2 channels for Muslims, and 1 Buddhist channel. That leaves 387 channels for my protestant brothers and sisters. Metaphorically speaking, with tongue firmly planted in cheek, I must tell you- this does seem an adequate representation of religion today. Maybe I will expound on it at a later date.
I am going to list and expound on each channel available on ROKU. I would encourage all Catholics with a ROKU, or other streaming device to investigate what Catholic options you have.

Here is the complete list:
• EWTN- Irondale, Alabama
• Catholic TV- Boston, Massachusetts
• Newman Connection
• Shalom TV
• Catholic Life Television
• Vatican Channel
• Divine TV- Muringoor, India
• Saint Anthony Catholic Church
• FNDTV (Fraternity of Notre Dame Television)
• Basilica of St. John- Des Moines, Iowa
• Our Lady of the Visitation
• My Prayer Channel
• Streamspot**

EWTN– It’s the obvious giant. The channel itself started in a garage in the 1970’s. It is now broadcast worldwide. I think this channel, more than anything, drew me close to investigating the Church. It was in my home. Nobody knew what I was doing or considering. I fell in love with Mother Angelica, the founders of EWTN. There are hours and hours of her back catalogue to enjoy. Enjoy them I did! With humor, grit, and compassion, I listened to Mother Angelica teaching the faith. Another favorite show of mine is, “The Journey Home.” It is a straightforward talk show. There is usually one guest and one host. The guest is always a convert, revert, or a convert that reverted and needs converting again. (I’m being cheeky, did you figure it out?) There are numerous news channels. One of my favorites is, “The World Over” with Raymond Arroyo. There is also a current selection of homilies, mass celebrations, Devotions, and special events to stream. The Canonizations of Saint John XXIII and Saint John Paul the Great are available to watch. Other devotions available to observe/participate in are The Rosary, The Chaplet of Divine Mercy, The Chaplet of St. Michael, The Litany of the Holy Name, The Litany of the Sacred Heart, and The Litany of Loreto. There are also many hours of kids programming on EWTN. I don’t know how much exactly, you will just have to trust me.

Catholic TV is based out of Boston, MA. I love this channel. At one point, they had a kid’s quiz show that was all about the Catholic faith. This was my secret weapon during RCIA. I watched every episode and learned a ton!
This channel has some teachings from a few Bishops. I really enjoy these. Each “episode” is usually no longer than 5 minutes. It will pose a question and an answer. For Example:
Q- What is the Real Presence? Why do Catholics believe in it?
A- The real presence is the teaching from the Deposit of Faith that Christ is fully present in the Eucharist when we receive. See John 6. (With a little more explanation, and usually it is tied in to church Tradition and the early church Fathers.)
Catholic TV has its own News, Talk Soup, and learning shows much like EWTN does.
One of the big plusses to me about this channel is that the Chaplet of Divine Mercy is sung.

Newman Connection-USA
The Newman Connection is a campus ministry in the USA. Many public colleges have a Newman Center for their catholic students. This is a very simple and straightforward channel. It has one prayer, the Glorious Mysteries of the Rosary. It is beautifully rendered. There is a 20 part class on the Theology of the Body. Best of all is a 26 episode broadcast of teachings from the YouCat. That is a catechism for youth. It explains the catholic faith in a simple way, for a simple mind like mine.
Shalom TV- is based out of Canada. The ROKU channel has different commercials for the programming it has. If you download this channel, pay close attention. The commercials advertise the date and time of each specific show. The only option for watching shows on Shalom TV is the live stream. I haven’t watched much of this channel. I prefer the a la carte streaming of other channels, and I rarely live stream. If/when I watch more of it; I will post an update about this channel.
Catholic Life Television-Baton Rouge, LA, Saint Anthony Catholic Church-Lakeland, FL, Basilica of St. John-Des Moines, IA, Our Lady of the Visitation-Cincinnati, OH
Each of these channels is based in a parish here in the United States. Each of them has Mass to watch. Some are recorded, others can be watched live. I don’t suggest these as a replacement to going to Mass. They are fun to watch when I have some free time from which I can drag myself away from Netflix!
The Vatican Channel-This is actually a travel channel. It does contain some wonderful information though. There are several programs on the history of Vatican II. The travel tidbits are interesting and make me long to go.
Divine TV- Muringoor, India
This channel is predominately live streaming of retreat talks.

FNDTV
This is the channel of the Fraternity of Notre Dame. FNDTV is a television network for the family which promotes Catholic Tradition, Christian Unity, Religious Freedom, Human Rights, News, documentaries; religious ceremonies; films; cartoons and more. Like other channels there are various stand-alone programs and 2 live streams. There is a live stream for both America and Europe.

My Prayer Channel– has a prayer for each day of the year. Each is about a two minutes long. There is also a devotion to the Stations of the Cross. There is also a children’s version of this very beautiful prayer devotion.

As a catholic, I can certainly tell you that each of these channels has helped me in some way. I think that another way these channels are helpful is for the new and curious. I watched several Masses before I stepped foot in a Catholic church. I didn’t really know what to expect and did not want to go in unprepared! Only God knows what would happen if I did that!
So for my catholic friends who need a little edification this is the place for you to watch and learn. For my non-Catholic friends who cannot figure out why in the world I became catholic, this is the place for you to watch and learn.

Next week I will share with you some of my favorite Andriod apps, that I use to study and stay connected to my faith.

 

 

 

**Streamspot is a hub for many religious groups.  Catholics, protestants and others use streamspot to stream their religious services via ROKU.