Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I truly believe that this is the day I have been waiting for.  Maybe it is the day I have been preparing for.  Its been a day 37 years, 23 days, 20 hours, and 45 minutes in the making.

More realistically it started 1 year ago, today.

Here is what I posted on FB:

What a difference 1 year makes. 1 year ago, I made the hardest decision I have yet faced in my life. I made it a bit more difficult by announcing it over FB as well. That decision was to give up everything I knew, and everything I thought I knew, for something that was real and had depth. Immediately after that decision, I was plunged into what I refer to as my “dark night of the soul”. It lasted several months, actually. I went from someone who practiced native ways, to an agnostic, to atheist, to full blown crazy. Now I sit here on the eve of Easter Vigil. One step away from being in full communion with the Catholic Church; it is probably the most misunderstood, ridiculed, and despised institution on the planet.

You see though, Christ was hated. And he was misunderstood. Then He was crucified, died, and resurrected after 3 days. So if you don’t like my decisions, or how I live my life, or how I reconcile myself to my religion….

Mind your own business. I’m happier than I have ever been, and owe no-one an explanation.

If you haven’t read my bio it is here.  It is hard to believe that it has been a year.  I started RCIA 36 weeks ago.  I distinctly remember how far away today seemed.  Now, in about 12 hours I will step into a darkened sanctuary waiting for the light of the world.  By the end, I will be in full communion with the Catholic Church.

Can you imagine me speechless?  There are so many things I want to say and share.  Holy week has been overwhelmingly beautiful.  Somehow, at some point I will try to post all that I have seen these last two days. Then of course a post about the Easter Vigil!

More than anything, I just want to say thank you.  I thank God for allowing me to make poor decisions and suffer the consequences.  I also thank him for loving me as the prodigal son again…and again…again.  I want to thank my RCIA sponsor Debbie Thomson.  I know it has been a long road for you too.  I hope this journey has increased your faith too.  Thank you to Jon Cox and the entire RCIA Team.  Every single person on the RCIA team has touched my heart in a very special and unique way.  Amanda, you know.  And I know you know…thank you.  At the weakest moment when I wanted to run and hide in shame, you helped me stay.  Thank you to Awestruck.  You guys encouraged me to blog.  Very early on in my walk, I had to narrow my field.  I haven’t been able to come and visit as much as I would have liked.  Your staff has been remembered in my prayers.  Thank you to Fr. Larry for your help, encouragement and counsel each week at our RCIA class.  Thank you for the homilies and blessings at 9 am dismissal each Sunday.  Thank you to Fr. Jim for hearing my lengthy confession.  Thank you for your always “brief” homilies.  And thank you for the additional lessons that always pop up at the perfect moment.  Thank you to everyone who has commented, followed, and encouraged me with this blog.  From the bottom of my heart, thank you to every person who scoffed, rebuffed, or rebuked my decision to go to RCIA and join the Catholic Church.  Each of you drove me deeper into prayer and study.  I have grown strongest and learned the most from you.

Thankfully, today is not the be all and end all.  Today is definitely climactic.  After this I have a few more weeks of RCIA to look forward to.  A period called Mystagogia.  And then of course, there is always the lifetime ahead.  The opportunity to spend each day with Christ, growing in his image and likeness.

Love,

Roy