Tags

, , ,

Killing two birds with one stone.  Both of these posts were relatively short. I reworked and edited them into one.

That’s what friends are for….what?  What are friends for?  It is a question I ask myself often.  I have few friends.  3 of the people I am closest to live several hours away.  They are heavily involved with different things with their families, so friendship takes on a different dynamic.  The calls are less frequent, but oftentimes more intense.   I have a host of acquaintances.  People that I know and see regularly.  Work, and other places, people I have met along the way of life.  I consider myself lucky.  I get along with 99.9% of humanity.  Just because I get along with someone though, does not mean I share a lot of me with them.  Part of what makes friendship so difficult for me is that I am decidedly single and most people I know start a family at some point.  So I get presented with the opportunity (again) to make another friend (or two), that usually lasts 2-4 years.  I’m not whining.  I just gets a little old.  Check that, I get a little old.  The older you get, with a new friendship, the more foundation there is to cover. (For both people, of course.)  I have a few friends that know me inside and out.  I can trust that if I ever need them, they are a phone call away.  On a day-to-day basis,  there is pretty much just me.  It does not bother me most of the time.  I treasure my alone time.  I even enjoy doing things alone like movies, dinner, museums, etc.  I do miss the days of calling up a BFF and drinking coffee at IHOP till the sun came up.  It is a quandary.  I have had difficulty connecting to my fellows in RCIA.  People have families, children, and responsibilities. I have free time.  Tons of it.  One of the blogs I read is The Lonely Pilgrim.  I understand that title.  Considering the “season” of life I am in, I don’t think there are supposed to be a lot of people hanging around.  Writing this helps me to remember to be grateful what I do have.  A myriad of acquaintances I get along with quite well, a few trusted friends a phone call away, and the hope a few more as I encounter Christ.

I am learning just how family oriented catholics are.  Marriage is a covenant and a sacrament, and new life is the product of that.  Though, as I become a catholic, I do indeed become a part of the Body of Christ.  Quite literally a family that numbers in the billions.  Catholics are a little different though.  The difference starts with Church.  In a protestant church there is a certain openness and welcoming.  At Mass, it is much more reverent before.  There is fellowship afterwards with coffee and doughnuts.  I make myself stay afterwards and endure the awkwardness.  I usually latch onto a fellow RCIA person or a team member.  After a short conversation or two, I go home.  It isn’t bad.  I guess it is a little uncomfortable because I know so few people there.  It is a slowly widening circle.  I guess I still need to practice a little more patience. Er, maybe a lot more patience.  I am much more a do(er) than a Be(er).