Tags

,

I can’t really say I was expecting it.  I have a handful of readers and some lurkers who like to scoff at what I am doing in my life and on this blog. I was nominated for the Liebster blog award.  Many thanks to Joseph Richardson for nominating me.  He blogs here on Word Press at The Lonely Pilgrim.

The Liebster Blog Award

Towards the end of this post, I will be answering some questions that go with the Award.  It is a way for readers to learn more about the blogger.  Before I do that I would like to nominate a few fellow bloggers that I read often.  The only “rule” so to speak is that they have less than 200 followers.  I supposedly have 254, however I am aware that a large quantity of those are people who I am ostracized from.  I probably have more like 60-70 readers, going by my stats.  Here are the three bloggers I would like to nominate:

Servus Fidelis who blogs at Servus Fidelis: the faithful servant.  This is my go to blog when I want to dive in and immerse myself in different doctrines.  Hopefully as I mature as a blogger, my blog will be as articulate and well laid out as his.

The Whole Gang over at Team Orthodoxy!  This is a group of 9 catholics blogging together.  I take extreme delight in arfink’s.  Spiritual Life for NOObs cartoons.  They make me smile over and over.  The blog also covers a wide range of topics pertinent to this day and age.  Thank you, guys.  Your blog is “the one” that actually inspired me to start my own.

Nate Addington at My Hope BoxNate works with youth.  Something I admire greatly…from a distance.  Kids aren’t my thing, but I am grateful God has called this man to service.

Thanks to all 3 of you for making a deep impact on my life.  For you three, here is what is next:

Here are the instructions for reposting:

  1. Post the award image in a post of your own.
  2. Acknowledge who gave you the award (and link back to them).
  3. Choose 3–5 other bloggers who you think should be noticed more than they are and should have more readers, and pass the award on to them.
  4. Copy the interview questions below and answer them.
  5. Make up a question of your own and add it to the bottom, and answer it for yourself.
  6. Copy these instructions somewhere in the message to pass it on.

My turn to answer the questions.

1. A book that changed your life?  The Pillars of the Earth, by Ken Follett.  I was bored and unchallenged in 7th grade.  My english teacher launched a paperback version of this book at my head.  She demanded a full book report after Christmas break.  Oddly enough, this book was my first introduction to Catholicism.  The story centers around 1 family and their life during the building of a Cathedral.  Historical fiction at its finest.  It also taught me patience.  I had to wait 2 decades for the sequel.

2. Your favourite author/writer?  Tad Williams.  He writes epic fantasy novels like no other.  Simply brilliant.

3. Pet and its name?  The main reason I delayed writing this post.  I just brought home a new kitten this week.  His name is Qwerty.  Why Qwerty?  His first foray from hiding under the coffee table involved skittering across my laptop while I was chatting with my sister. I also own Brutus.  My beloved boxer showed up on my doorstep underfed and terrified.  I don’t classify myself as a dog person.  I spent a month trying to locate his owners to no avail.  By that time I had fallen in love.  I wish I was half the man that dog thinks I am.  I also own 4 bettas.  Mr. Darcy, Samson, Delilah, and Putnam.  Coming soon….a full blown fish tank.

4. Craziest thing you have done?  You aren’t a priest and this isn’t confession!  But I did get a little fluffy in the Las Vegas Airport one time.  Well, I was tipsy.  Ok, ok.  I was drunker than Cooter Brown.  I somehow had the bright idea to climb upon the trams that run to the different concourses.  They travel inside and outside.  The view of Vegas was amazing.  LVPD, however, was not amused in the slightest.  By some amazing act of God’s grace they allowed me to sleep it off in the airport.

5. My best friend?  Other than my dog?  I don’t really have a best friend right now.  I have people who I am close to.  They feel more like family though.  I would love to have one and probably need one.  Good place for a shout out to my RCIA sponsor Debbie.  The bestest RCIA sponsor a candidate could have.

6. A childhood prank?  My 7th grade teacher ate pot brownies I made for the last day of school.  Thank God for the statute of limitations.

7. Favourite music artist?  Impossibleto answer.  I have a favorite of every genre.  I also have a favorite for every mood.  I listen to classical, pop, jazz, rock, heavy metal, new agey stuff and everything in between.  Right now I am entranced by Mumford and Sons.

8. A place you would love to visit?  Rome of course.  However, before I go there I would like to go to Barcelona, Spain.  There, I could visit Basilica Sagrada de Familia. (The link is a virtual tour.  Be amazed.)

9. If you had just 5 minutes left to live what is the one thing I would do?  Other than the last rites?  I would hope to have my wits about me enough to enjoy my last moments with people who care about me.

10. Favourite sport?  I don’t really do sports.  How about olympic Netflix watching?

11. How do you define love?  I’d rather experience it than quantify it.

12. Who’s your favorite saint? Hildegard Von Bingen.  Simply amazing, multi-faceted.   Have you ever heard of The Canticles of Ecstasy?  She wrote them almost 1000 years ago.  Listen here.  St. Hildegard was recently made a Doctor of the Church.

13.  What is a subject you know little about, that you would like to become an expert in?  Latin, Greek, Hebrew, Aramaic.  Or maybe The Saints.  Or maybe the CCC. Or or or……

Many thanks again to Joseph for nominating me.