Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

This should be an interesting post.  I have a flurry of thoughts rolling around, and though all are connected, I haven’t fully mapped it out in my head.

Cue catharsis…

Last weeks RCIA topic was the Trinity.  For some odd reason, I didn’t really post anything about it.  I posted about faith. Fast forward to today, class was about faith.  (Synchronicity enters stage right.)  This weeks topic was faith. (Commercial break)

October 11, 2012 has been officially declared the year of Faith by Pope Benedict XVI.  The upcoming Year of Faith is a “summons to an authentic and renewed conversion to the Lord, the One Savior of the world”. In other words, the Year of Faith is an opportunity for Catholics to  experience a conversion – to turn back to Jesus and enter into a deeper  relationship with him. The “door of faith” is opened at one’s baptism,  but during this year Catholics are called to open it again, walk through it and rediscover and renew their relationship with Christ and his  Church. (Swiped from here.){Commentary on commercial}  The year of faith coincides with two anniversaries.  First, on this day in 1962, Pope John XXIII opened the Second Vatican Council.  Vatican Council, Second, popularly called Vatican II,1962–65, the 21st ecumenical council of the Roman Catholic Church, convened by Pope John XXIII and continued under Paul VI. Its announced purpose was spiritual renewal of the church and reconsideration of the position of the church in the modern world. The most spectacular innovation of the council, which convened Oct. 11, 1962, was the invitation extended to Protestant and Orthodox Eastern churches to send observers; the meetings were attended by representatives from many of those churches. Another obvious feature was the diversity of national and cultural origins shown among those who attended from all over the world. (swiped from here.Read more if you like.)  The second anniversary is for the Catechism of the Catholic Church.  Hence referred to as the CCC.

The decision to publish a catechism was taken at the Extraordinary Assembly of the Synod of Bishops that was convened by Pope John Paul II on 25 January 1985 for the 20th anniversary of the close of the Second Vatican Council, and in 1986, the pope put a commission composed of 12 bishops and cardinals in charge of the project. The commission was assisted by a seven member committee including diocesan bishops and experts in theology and catechesis.

The text was approved by Pope John Paul II on 25 June 1992, and promulgated by him on 11 October 1992, the 30th anniversary of the opening of the Second Vatican Council, with his apostolic constitution, Fidei depositum.  (Deposit of Faith)

It was published in the French language in 1992 and was then translated into many other languages. In the United States, the English translation was published by the U.S. bishops in 1994, with a note that it was “subject to revision according to the Latin typical edition when it is published.”  (Thank you Wikipedia.  I’ve read the exact same thing other places.  Wikipedia however has it formatted in a more easy to read fashion, along with footnotes.)

So….we talked about faith.  It’s interesting since I was already “there” after last week’s class on the Trinity.  Then John Cox, RCIA teacher man says:

Faith is our response to the revelation of God.

Oh, so that’s why.  I experienced the Real Presence in the Eucharist even though I could not participate fully.  I didn’t have any prior knowledge of the doctrine or what it was.  I was somehow able to discern the unseen events unfolding before my eyes. (Gotta love a good Mystery!)  That revelation has led to conviction.  The revelation of the Real Presence elicited a powerfully strong response from me.  I simply cannot get enough of God.  (Enter stage left- Annoying Sham-Wow sales twerp)

BUT WAIT!!! There is more!!! Every day…from the beginning of time to the end we’ve got this special offer!!!!   Not only do you get Revelation before your eyes and a healthy dose of Conviction…We are going to create the response of Faith.  AND!!! Since you heard the call, picked up the phone and tapped into the Holy Spirit Hotline to Jesus…we are going to throw in the desire for Obedience so your Faith will grow.  This will only cost you a little discipline in your PRAYER LIFE.   That’s when John Cox, Faith Formation Dude said:

To grow in faith means to grow in obedience.  Obedience in faith implies trust and being obedient to authority.

Oh, so that’s why I’ve been praying a little more.  It’s probably why I am also furtively looking at how to enlarge my prayer life.  Why so covertly?  Well, I’m a little lazy.   I’m starting to pray more about the gift of faith starting tonight.  I will let you how it goes.

I’ve been reading some about different prayers.  There are many beautiful prayers in the Catholic Church.  Along with the ones I received tonight, I’ve been reading a book on the history of Catholic Devotions.  I cannot remember the name of it.  I’ll post it later.  I like set prayers a lot.  It isn’t that I don’t want to use my own words.  The “Our Father”, “Glory Be”, and others express what I want to say so much better.  Never fear though, I have no problem expressing intentions to our Father in Heaven.

There were two other quotes that struck me deeply.

We cannot pray ‘at all times’, if we cannot pray at specific times.

That was taken from the CCC paragraph 2697.  It sounds to me like it is time to invest more attention to the habit of prayer.  In the morning and at night seem like a good place to hone this skill.

The other quote that I would like to close with is:

Prayer is the air that the soul breathes to live.

That quote is attributed to St. Benedict.  I guess I will have to add him to my reading list too.

Well, that makes a little more sense now.