Tags

, ,

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today was a great day.  Granted, I didn’t sleep much last night.  I was excited.  It was a great day.  Granted, my dog thought my tie was an object de’ tug of war, while it was around my neck.  It was a great day.  Granted, I think I chugged 64 oz. of Diet Pepsi and really needed to go to the bathroom.  It was a great day.

That moment when Patrick (RCIA Team Member) knocked (well, really pummeled) the door, it was amazing.  3 knocks.

Let

us

in.

The door was opened, by Domini. My RCIA sponsor met me at the door. We walked together towards the front of the church, following Domini.  We stated our names, and agreed to the intention of learning more during this period.  No longer simply inquiring about the faith, but expressing desire and longing to join the Church.  We received the sign of the Cross on our ears, eyes, lips, heart, shoulders, hands and feet.  Dedicating them to learn and walk with the Church for a little while.  The Church proclaimed its willingness to accept and welcome us and candidates for confirmation, or catechumens who will also seek baptism. (I’ve already been baptized.)  We were asked to sit, and proceeded with hearing the first homily as candidates.

Half way through a really good homily, the adrenaline slowly left my body.  I began to relax and become more comfortable.  My eyes would range out of focus…SeRiOuSlY?!?!?!?  I’m not even confirmed and I start dozing off?!?!?  Oh Lord, I may need more help than I thought!  I stayed awake.  I had a good chuckle at myself, sat up straight and paid attention.  After the intensity of the last few days, being a little woozy isn’t a surprise. (This time.)

After the homily, we received a blessing from the priest and headed to the library for the rest of Mass.  There I was introduced to something very new, very different, and very exciting.

Lectio Divina.  It is Latin for divine reading.  It is a way to pray the scriptures in order to gain greater understanding.  I love it.

Here is the outline for Lectio Divina:

Read      1. Read the Scripture passage slowly.                                           

Reflect   2.  Read the passage again, silently.  Ask the Lord to let you read and “hear” it as if for the first time.  What does it mean? Paraphrase it in a few sentences. 

Spontaneous Prayer    3.  A.  Pick one person from the passage: __________________

Imagine that you are there, in this person’s “shoes.” What do you see, hear, smell, taste or touch?  This is just plain cool.

B.  How do you think this person or you yourself would feel in this situation?

C.  Does this passage remind you of something or someone in your life?  Is there anything you would say or do differently in this situation, either as the person in the Scripture passage or in the life experience that this situation brings to mind?

D.  Have a “heart-to-Heart” talk with Jesus, sharing your honest feelings about anything that has come to mind as you reflect on this passage.

 E.  Choose one word or phrase from this passage that has a special meaning for you: __________________________________.

Resting  In God   4.  Read the passage again. Close your eyes. Think of your favorite picture of Jesus and LISTEN to HIM.

The whole process takes about 15 minutes.  It is a very insightful way to study, pray, and understand scriptures.  I look forward to doing it every week.

Just a great day.  What else can I say?  Oh, yea.

Dear God,

Please bless Debbie, John and the RCIA team, Father Jim, Father Larry, and the Parish of St. Maria Goretti Catholic Church.

Amen.

 

**Legal Stuff**

This Modern English description of the timeless Lectio Divina was written by Carol Lankford.  (See Catechism of the Catholic Church #2708)

Copyright © 1994, 2003 by Carol Lankford.  All Rights Reserved.  May be reprinted without alterations, including copyright notation, for classroom & individual use.  No reproduction for publication without permission, contact (608) 791-2658.

Bookmark size copy of Lectio Divina available from Marian Catechist Apostolate (608) 791-2658.